Becky Says...

February 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 14

This week, I'm part of a five-day collaboration called Februarium. This is the final entry in the series. For your convenience, here are links to those for Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. I have thoroughly enjoyed doing these entries. Thanks to Tygerchild for coming up with this collaboration.

Day Five, February 14: Why you love.
-Write an answer to this question. "Why do you love?"

A bit of an Oscar Hammerstein lyric that was intended for The Sound of Music gave a good reason: "Love in your heart wasn't put there to stay. Love isn't love till you give it away."

I love because I can't not love. I can't go through life shutting my heart to people, even if sometimes those people wind up bringing me a great deal of pain. Love is not something I can really regret --- some relationships, yes, but not the love that underlay them.

I love because I am the better for it. Loving people and seeking to be loving toward them takes me outside my own selfish preoccupations. And that's a good thing to have happen.

I love because doing so expresses my soul.

I love because I do. It's as simple and as complicated as that.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky