Becky Says...

April 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sights - April 9

I didn't want to interrupt my work too much this afternoon, so I did an abbreviated errand-run. I was almost out of chocolate, and that will not do.

So to downtown Chapel Hill I went. I took the camera because I figured I'd find some leftover evidence of Monday night's celebration. And I was right.

Franklin and Columbia

This is the intersection of Franklin and Columbia Streets. The pavement is not usually Carolina blue at all.

A few minutes later I saw a sight that had nothing to do with the NCAA celebration, or at least I don't think it did. And I couldn't get a clear shot of it without being obvious, so you'll just have to take my word on it.

The sight was a man wearing jeans, a t-shirt, and a Cat in the Hat hat. He was walking down the sidewalk on Columbia Street, checking the garbage cans.

At first I thought he might be a town sanitation worker, checking to see if the cans needed emptying, but when he got to the one next to the tree under which I was standing, he lifted the top off, stirred the refuse with his hand, replaced the top, and walked away.

It startled me so much I couldn't come up with anything to say. Only after I got home did it dawn on me that had he been a town worker he would have been wearing a uniform and wearing gloves. And probably wouldn't have put his hands in the garbage can, come to think of it.

Text and photograph © copyright 2000-2009 Becky