Becky Says...

January 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Biscuits - January 15

When I was a little girl, our next-door neighbor almost always made biscuits (quickbread, not cookies) to have with dinner. Sometimes I would sit with her in her kitchen, watching what she did to make them, and then having one of them with a glass of tea.

My mother didn't make biscuits from scratch (which for purposes of this entry, also includes baking mix). She was a good cook, but wasn't particularly interested in baking. So we always used canned biscuits, which I like just fine as far as taste.

I'm not sure when I first made biscuits myself, but I love being able to do it. I love it for more than one reason, but one of the biggies is not having to hear the pop of a biscuit can. I hated that noise. Every time I knew it was going to happen, I would cringe and do my best to look away. Just in case the thing popped incorrectly, you understand.

Anyway, a few years ago, a writer I read linked to a different recipe, one that's actually quite a bit easier to make because it uses oil instead of shortening. I've used it any number of times, and am happy to report the biscuits are very good.

Of course, like any good recipe, it can be modified. I usually use self-rising flour and leave out the baking powder and salt. And I rarely roll them out, instead making small balls of dough and flattening them on the baking sheet.

And in my mind, when I smell them cooking, I'm back in my neighbor's kitchen, knowing something good to eat will soon be in front of me.

Text � copyright 2000-2009 Becky