Becky Says...

July 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






For the Win - July 21

Mid-summer is a slow time for freelance any of the things I do, so I'm taking advantage of that to work on a couple of personal craft projects. One of those is a project for which I'm planning to offer the pattern, so I'm making it up as I go along. It's also something I want for me, so I 'm having a good time working on it. Pictures and the pattern will be forthcoming.

When I started the project, I thought I had bought enough yarn. Just in case, I went with a yarn that comes without a dye lot, so that if I needed to buy more, I wouldn't have to worry about it. And I was planning my next yarn buy, because I was running low.

My inner cheapskate was going to hold off on ordering until I was running lower, mainly to have a better estimate of how much I'd need to finish the project and could purchase accordingly.

Turns out the answer to that question is "none." I took time today to check through a cache of yarn I had bought a few years ago, when one of my local stores was having an excellent sale. In the cache, I found that I had what I'm pretty sure is more than enough of the yarn to finish the project.

The only thing better than getting in on an excellent sale is finding out you don't even need to go shopping.

* * * * * * * * * * *

While Helen was in North Carolina over the weekend, she had a chance to go to Asheville. While there, she ran across a bluegrass band, Bear Down Easy (music starts when the page loads). I'm going to let her tell you about it, and I definitely encourage you to watch the video she made of their performance. As I told her, this band is made of win, and I hope they go far.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky