Becky Says...

July 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Shrill - July 28

There was another of those online disagreements started yesterday, in which someone who is probably quite nice in real life made herself sound like an entitled bitch when she posted to a message board associated with a craft site.

She was actually trying to encourage other people in the group to post pictures of things they've made. It came across, though, as "What's the matter with you that you don't post pictures? You ungrateful people just want to take and take and never give anything!" Paraphrasing, of course. But the shrill was definitely there in her first post.

She eventually tamped down the shrill, but as with most disagreements, once the first words and tone are out there, it's hard to make them go away.

Well, quite a few people, not including me, told her just exactly why they didn't post the way she pleased.

Me, I sat on my fingers for several reasons, not least of which is I'm not the exact target of her little tirade. I have actually posted pictures, probably not as many as she would like, but she can get over it.

I'm afraid that's what I would have said had I posted.

Put another way, I've learned that anytime I'm tempted to start a reply with, "Who the hell do you think you are...?" it's best for me to step away from the computer.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky