Becky Says...

January 2007

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Decisions - January 23

Yesterday was, according to several websites, supposed to be Blue Monday, commemorating the post-holiday letdown. But I didn't observe it, because I wasn't blue. I had a good day. If you didn't have a good day, I'm sorry.

I had one of those days when I reminded myself to trust my own judgment about something; to ponder it a bit, then if my ponderings had not led me to a good reason to change my mind, to stay with the decision I had made.

So I did that. And no, I'm not planning to tell the subject of the decision, because trusting one's judgment is the point here.

It took me a lot of years to realize that I could do that. But that realization was one of the most freeing and empowering ones I've ever had.

Note that I'm not suggesting never asking for advice. What I am suggesting is remembering in the end one is the person responsible for making one's own decisions, and the best to judge the choices and consequences.

And if you're not used to doing it, I'll tell you one thing: it does get easier with practice.

Text © copyright 2000-2007 Becky