Becky Says...

November 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Fair - November 9

Fun bit of the day: I was talking with a member of the Human Rights Campaign, and in the conversation he mentioned that HRC tries to be fair-minded. I looked at him and said on the issue of gay marriage I wasn't really fair-minded because I thought those opposed to it were unfair and wrong.

I think that pretty much told him what side of the issue I'm on. Sometimes I don't mind being the choir being preached to; other times I really just want to catch my bus.

Although I don't consider myself fair-minded on this issue, I do try to be fair to those who are opposed to it. I work from the notion they've been taught that it's wrong, and that it's up to all of us who think otherwise to do some educating. At the same time, I recognize that minds change slowly.

But I have hope. I have lived in the South all my life, and in those years I've seen great change in attitudes on a variety of issues. There are still too many people with closed minds, but there is hope.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky