Becky Says...

November 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Birthday Girls - November 11

The birthday girls would have been 95 today. Mother and her twin, Rebecca, have been on my mind a lot this week. Both the birthday girls taught me many, many things. Perhaps the most valuable of the lessons was that prejudice was not acceptable.

An introduction to my mother can be found here. And yesterday I was reminded by a response to the last entry of this entry, about Aunt Rebecca and some of her influence on my life. Among many other things, she is the first person who ever brought up the notion of gay rights.

Aunt Rebecca was a community college librarian. The summer I was age 11 she hired an assistant who happened to be gay. Knowing our small town and its gossip/nastiness quotient, she sat me down and told me that some people dated people of the opposite gender, and some dated people of the same gender.

She presented this as something I might not have known of before, but that it was normal. I believe we then went on to discuss knitting projects or piano lessons --- something else normal, in other words. It never occurred to me that there was supposed to be anything "wrong" about anyone being gay.

For that, and other life lessons, I am grateful to both of the birthday girls. And on this, their birthday, I celebrate their lives.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky