Becky Says...

November 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Forty-nine Years - November 8

Forty-nine years ago this evening, my father died. I wrote of that day in this entry.

He's been on my mind recently, in part because I've been sorting through some family things. I don't have many things that had belonged to him, because most of his things were given away after he died, to people who really needed them. That would have been his wish.

But every so often, in sorting through things, I find a lovely reminder of his presence.

One such, a few years ago, was a check stub. He had written on the stub that it was to the hospital, for "baby." That would be me, and the check had been written a few days after I was born.

Another is a draft of a biographical fact sheet he was doing at the request of a civic group. On that sheet is my name, in his handwriting. That one, no matter that it was a draft, is framed and has a place of honor in my living room.

I love finding and having things like that.

* * * * * * * * * * *

My condolences to David on his aunt's death yesterday. That link will take you to his tribute to her.

Text � copyright 2000-2006 Becky