Becky Says...

November 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Meet and Right and Salutary - November 5

I spent a little time yesterday watching the webcast of the installation of the Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Shori as Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church. I watched in part because I have a real fondness for the Episcopal Church, and in part because this was history, and in part because people I love were in the congregation.

I found myself thinking about all the history of women's ordination in that denomination and in my own Lutheran one. Of the women who have been ordained, there have been some who had it relatively easy, and some whose dedication to their vocation was tested more than one might think.

As I write this, I'm thinking in particular of two Episcopalians, one whose first attempts at becoming ordained were thwarted by a clergyman who told her she was too old. But a number of years later, another clergyman saw no barriers and helped her along the way. And another whose ministry was challenged by her own illness and then the fact that she was not particularly good at filling the "traditional" woman's role in the congregation in which she served. When it came time for her to leave that parish, one could almost hear people singing "Ding, dong, the witch is dead...."

And I'm thinking of a Lutheran friend whose synod failed to support her, for much the same reasons as the second of the two Episcopalians above (non-traditional woman). She eventually left the denomination, which I think is terribly sad.

But I'm also thinking of women I know who have made it past whatever gender-based hurdles were placed before them, and have gone on to serve parishes (Lutheran and Episcopal ones) with little fuss and great joy.

Of course right now I'm thinking of a woman (who, incidentally, is a few months younger than I am) who has just become the Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church. I wish for her much joy in this new venue, and wish for those she serves to be open to her ministry.

Clearly the various denominations have a way to go in accepting women clergy. But that said, it is good to have such a huge celebration as Bishop Jefferts Shori's installation to remind all of us just how far acceptance has come.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky