Becky Says...

Nobember 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Blues to the East, Blues to the West - November 3

If you need proof that the people in the United States are geographically challenged, you need look no further than a store window in Chapel Hill. Or maybe it's that they are directionally challenged. Either way, I saw an absolute atrocity today.

I had a few minutes to kill while I was waiting for a bus this afternoon. I was looking at the t-shirts in a store window, because there are usually some with very clever slogans on them and I appreciate clever.

My eyes fell on one that would have been wonderful. It said, "Choose your Blues," playing on the fact that both Duke and UNC-Chapel Hill have blue and white as their colors. Duke's is the darker of the two, in case you don't know.

Anyway, just below that were arrows pointing left and right. And a suggestion that one go in a specific direction for either school. Only they were backwards.

I think the shirt may have been designed by an N.C. State University Student, in an attempt to get fans of the other two Atlantic Coast Conference schools in the Research Triangle hopelessly lost.

Trust me: Duke University is in Durham, North Carolina. UNC-Chapel Hill is in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The two locales are about twelve miles apart. Chapel Hill is west of Durham. Durham is east of Chapel Hill.

No matter what the shirt says.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky