Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Operation Get Becky Home - November 5

When I last wrote of the bus trips between my office and my apartment complex, I had had a wonderful experience in terms of the two bus drivers making sure I got home when I wanted to do so. That happened again on Friday, but with a couple of twists.

Bus 1, from the office complex to downtown Chapel Hill, was running late. I figured I was going to have to wait for the last bus home from downtown. But never underestimate two dedicated drivers.

The driver of Bus 2 called when we were still about six minutes away from downtown, to announce he was almost at the downtown stop and to find out if I was on board. Bus 1's driver told him our location and that I was there. (One of these days I suspect she'll hand the radio handset to me so that I can announce my own presence...). She promised to drive fast.

We stopped to pick up a man and woman who I see when they board the bus to go downtown once a week. They usually get off the bus one stop before mine. They settled in a few rows behind me, and were quietly talking to each other.

Bus 2's driver called again, to check on the progress. He was already at the stop, and was planning to wait for me. Bus 1's driver told him we were just crossing a specific street. As she was saying this, the stoplight went to caution, and turned red as we were going under it. The driver said, to all of us, "Y'all didn't see that!"

The woman of the couple spoke up, joking, and said, "We're gonna tell!" in a tone of voice indicating the exact opposite, of course.

The driver said, "One of these days y'all are going to need me!" Then she laughed and sped on.

The couple were both laughing by this time. I looked in their direction and joked, "I'm definitely not going to tell because it's my fault!"

Apparently the couple decided they wanted to play a part in Operation Get Becky Home. Instead of signaling to get off the bus at their usual stop, they rode on to mine, which is a little over half a block away.

When we got to my stop, I thanked the driver and wished all a good weekend. Then I went around the corner to where Bus 2 was waiting, door open, for me to arrive.

I got there, thanked the driver for waiting, and settled into my seat for the ride home. When we got to my apartment complex, I thanked him again, and told him I appreciated not having to wait in a scary place. I hope he knows how much his kindness helped my weekend get off to a good start.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky