Becky Says...

November 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






The Next Chapter - November 2

The next chapter in the never-ending saga of Becky and the Bus System is mixed.

On Monday, the first weekday of the damned time change, I found out just how dark and scary it is when I usually leave work. Dark was obvious; scary took a few minutes. A man came up to me at the bus stop, where I had only one other time had company when waiting.

The man first asked what time it was, then asked when the bus would come. My stop is not a time point on the route, so I can only give a good guess on that. Since I wasn't totally sure, I said, it should come in a few minutes.

He started saying times. I kept saying "I don't know." After about the fourth one, my reply was delivered in that tone of voice universally used by mothers to let children know that one more question is going to get the child in big trouble...the pitch goes up at the end, and the last word gets an extra syllable.

He said, "Okay," at that point, and stopped asking. Instead, he started spitting. Not at me, but on the sidewalk. I don't know if that was for my benefit, but I do know it was disgusting.

Eventually the bus came and I made it downtown just barely on time to catch the bus to my apartment, thus saving me from getting caught up in Chapel Hill's Halloween celebration. I did see a few costumed people, but the crowd hadn't started gathering. I was extremely glad to get home.

Then came Tuesday. I'm learning that there's apparently a contingent of people who go to walk or out jogging by the bus stop near work when it gets dark. I don't find them particularly frightening, but the potential for danger does not go away from me.

I have been mildly afraid at that stop ever since sometime in August when someone stopped in a car and asked me if I were waiting for the bus. When I said yes, he drove off, so I'm guessing it was someone just asking an odd question. That happened in daylight.

I have made damned sure my cell phone was on and in my hand whenever I've waited for the bus since then. Not that I think the police could get there before I got hurt, but it would be at least an attempt.

Back to Tuesday. The bus was running late heading downtown from the office. I missed the bus to my apartment complex, and wound up waiting half an hour for the next one. There are other people near the bus stop downtown, some of whom are loud, possibly drunk, and definitely scary. I try to spend time shopping or something if I'm going to have to wait for that bus. But Tuesday I was finished shopping and didn't have anywhere else to go. Such fun.

Today was fine. The drivers of the two buses had spoken with each other, and as we were heading from the office complex the driver told me the one on the route home would wait for me. The driver of the bus I was to meet called the driver of the bus I was on when we were about two blocks from the stop, to make sure I was on the bus and to make sure I knew he was running a minute late himself.

I did indeed get to the stop a minute before he did, but I knew he hadn't left already, and didn't mind waiting. I felt very safe and very protected.

And tomorrow? Tomorrow I need to leave early to get to the grocery store so I can get home before dark. Yes, I told both drivers, just so they wouldn't worry.

Oh, before you ask, yes I have thought about changing my hours. We'll just have to see.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky