Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Promotions - October 6

The day here was rainy. That promises to be the case for several more days. I'm glad I had heard the forecast in ample time to alter my shopping schedule. I have never thought it was fun to deal with grocery bags on rainy days.

One of the television stations here has a contest going, whereby they'll pay some lucky soul fifty dollars if the predicted high for the day is off by more than five degrees. I've seen other contests of this sort on other stations at other times.

I didn't sign up for this one, nor have I for earlier ones, because it strikes me that winning one of these contests depends on someone else (the meteorologist, in this case) failing. And that doesn't work for me. I'd rather win on a positive note, if I'm going to win something.

The same station was urging people to donate to the Red Cross after Hurricane Katrina, and telling viewers to put [station's call letters] Hurricane Relief on the memo line of the check. The hell? Except that the station wanted the praise for telling viewers how to donate, there doesn't seem to be a reason for their call letters to be included.

As it happened, I made a donation through another source, but I guarantee you I would not have included their call letters had I gotten the Red Cross address from their announcement.

Actually, this is a station I happen to like a great deal. But of late, some of their promotional efforts leave me cold.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky