Becky Says...

October 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Saturday Pursuits - October 8

Sometimes I wish there were a way to do online research by asking a question like, "What do you call that thingy that holds the whatzit together?" Unfortunately, even the fuzziest of logic doesn't get you an answer to that. Hmm. Perhaps showing the search engine a picture would help.

As you may have guessed, I've been doing a little research today. I was looking for special kind of hinge. I knew what I wanted, but not what it was called. So I went through several possible combinations of words to get to the right hinge. I'm stubborn like that; I did find the hinge.

I have spent the day indoors. In addition to the research, I did some laundry, wrote some letters, and played lots of computer solitaire.

Solitaire is one of those relaxing things I take up from time to time. Back in the days before I had a computer, I wore out decks of playing cards on the game. I'm glad it's hard to wear out a computer's keyboard and mouse on such. I really would not want to explain that I needed a new computer because I had worn mine out playing solitaire.

When I was in college we learned new variations on solitaire every semester during exams. It's nice to see those variations made it to the virtual world. It helps carry on a valuable procrastination tradition. And the college students today have an advantage: they don't have to clear their books off the desk to spread out the cards.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky