Becky Says...

February 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Just for Fun - February 18

Earlier this week I had one of the most fun conversations I've had in a long time. It was a short one, with an attorney from another law firm with whom I have spoken on other occasions. It took place around 4:45 p.m., and you'll have to put in the Southern accents for yourselves.

Attorney: Could I please get Associate 1's telephone number?

Me: Well, this is her office number...

Attorney: I mean her e-mail. I'm brain-dead this afternoon.

Me: That's all right. Her e-mail is Associate 1 at our-service-provider dot com.

Attorney: That's an easy one.

Me: Yes, it is.

Attorney: Is she there, by the way?

Me: No, she's already left for the day.

Attorney: You know, in my next life I'm coming back as a lawyer who keeps her kind of hours.

Me: All right, but you have to be at the office at the crack of dawn.

Attorney (using deadpan voice and not missing a beat): I don't want her hours.

Me: Nice talking with you again!

Attorney: Same here. Goodbye!

Me: Goodbye!

Of course, the next day I repeated the conversation to Associate 1, and to everyone else in the law firm. Our days are often deadly serious, and when there's a chance for some fun, we have it.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky