Becky Says...

July 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 16

This is one of those significant days about which I don't have much to say that I didn't say last year. July 16 is and has been for a lot of years a significant day for me. And this year my thoughts are again on the people whose presence in my life made the day significant. If you haven't read the entry from last year, please do so, and please follow the advice at the end of it.

In that entry, I used the phrase, "chosen brother." I'm an only child. It's not so much that I've always wanted siblings; I did when I was a little girl, but somewhere in elementary school I got past that. It's just that as an adult, there have been several people who have filled sibling roles in my life. The good parts of sibling; not the rivalry bits.

It's a level of friendship that quite frankly I don't grant to that many people. And it's mine to grant. Right now, there are four people who are chosen siblings. There's a possibility of a fifth, but I don't quite know him well enough yet to grant him the status.

My chosen siblings are those people whose views of life are close enough to mine that we could have been brought up together. They are the people who accept me as I am. They are the people whose opinions matter the most to me. They are the people whose "attagirls" please me most. And they are the people I call when it hurts. They are the people who have offered to do or who have indeed done wonderful things for me, for no reason other than they care about me.

And they are the people I would most take time for, and do things for, in return. I suspect they all know that, but I'll state it here just in case there is any question.

I love them, and I'm grateful for their presence in my life. They all know that, too.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky