Becky Says...

October 12, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Ringing Clear and True

This is the day of the year that my blood does indeed run Carolina Blue. It's University Day, the anniversary of the laying of the cornerstone for the oldest state-supported university in the United States, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

As I was going in to work today, I was reading the day's edition of the Daily Tar Heel, the student newspaper. This column captured my attention, and I've been thinking the rest of the day about the Tar Heel voices that do indeed, as our alma mater describes, ring clear and true.

Those voices ringing include my own. One of the reasons I have always had respect for this campus of the University system is the high value placed on freedom of speech here. And it's one of my favorite freedoms. Even when someone is saying something I personally find repulsive, I recognize that person's right to exercise free speech. (Umm, let's not get into slander and libel here; I'm talking about other kinds of repulsive, okay?)

I also admire the voices and other efforts each new crop of students here put into fostering human rights. I've been around the campus and the town for a lot of years now, and never cease to be impressed with the efforts "my" people put into the ideals that capture their hearts.

There are a lot of good things about Carolina. This is a day to celebrate them all.

Happy Anniversary, Carolina. And long may the Tar Heel voices ring, clear and true.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky