Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 8

Ye gods. I had had such a good day yesterday. Work went amazingly well, there's a new eye candy client (me to his attorney: "You're right, he's gorgeous!"), and I got in on a really good sale at the corner convenience store.

Then I made a mistake. I decided to catch up on several days' posts to the links group. And there's a new know-it-all in it, and dear me did he make trouble. It took two hours, lots of coffee, many cursewords muttered, and many cigarettes smoked to read through the posts generated by his first blather.

The condensed version is that he thought he had a brilliant idea that would have made all of us totally redo our links pages. A few people thought this was a fine idea, including one woman who has someone else do her site and wouldn't know an HTML tag if it bit her. Then those who thought the idea sucked for various and sundry reasons got in the act, and the exchanges went downhill from there.

I was composing my goodbye letter to the group as I read. Regardless of whether it was a good idea or a bad idea, it would take more time than I would ever have to devote to it. But in the watch-the-trainwreck-aftermath spirit of being glued to something, I had to see the rest of the letters. One by one, his supporters jumped off the bandwagon, and the skirmish ended with the group moderator announcing that the idea would not be incorporated into the links list.

I've tucked the goodbye letter away for future reference. I'm finally figuring out what it is about that group that annoys me so much. Too many of the people who post to it are liable to agree with anyone whose snake oil has a fancy name. And that's just sad.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky