Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 6

A couple of months ago, I told you about a cousin of mine who had been in an accident. She continues to recuperate. After a brief, unproductive stay at the rehab facility associated with UNC Hospitals, she has gone to Charlotte, to a rehab facility much better suited to her needs. She's making progress.

Doctors there have determined she has too much fluid around her brain, and the next step will be the installation of a shunt to relieve this hydrocephaly. This is the same surgical procedure my mother had in 1990, and will be done in the same hospital. And that's something I see as a very good thing. The surgery will be done on Saturday, which is a normal thing in that hospital. And I'd appreciate prayers and good thoughts.

Today in Beckyland was busy and scattered. I wound up deciding to take myself out to get lunch, because I was tired and needed a break from routine. I went to my favorite deli, where I'm apparently well known. I did tell the person waiting on me what I wanted, but if I hadn't started talking, the other counterman could have told him for me. When he finished with the customer he had served, he looked at me and asked if I was having my usual sandwich (for which he named the ingredients), and if it was in process. That's one reason I love that deli---they could feed me if I were too tired to tell them what I wanted.

The sandwich was its usual wonderfulness (it's turkey, which is one of my favorite things on earth). Office dog Zoe likes getting a bit of it, too. In fact, when she had to choose whether to share some more of my lunch or go with Wendy to take the outgoing mail, she stayed for more sandwich instead of the doggie treats she gets along the route. Just in case Wendy or I had missed her choice, she reinforced it by sitting down right beside my chair (she usually stands while dining).

It was the first time I've ever seen the dog vote with her butt. I think she needed a break from her routine, too.

The main thing I need now is sleep. I think I'll go do just that.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky