Becky Says...

January 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 5

The best thing I can say about the snow today is that it's beginning to melt. I still haven't had the urge to go anywhere, so my car still has a fair amount of snow on it. But I'm heartened to see some of the pavement in the parking lot, and some grass in the yards across from me.

A lot of people are comparing this snow to the one we had in 2000 that left twenty inches in the area. That one was worse in terms of nuisance factor, but apparently not quite as bad in terms of accidents---more people decided this time it was safe to drive when it wasn't. Also, that year that was not the first snow or ice event of the winter. The twenty inches took a lot longer to melt because it had fallen on already frozen ground. This one should go away fairly soon, if we don't get more on top of it.

The forecast for tomorrow promises messy, whichever way it works out. We are supposed to get precipitation of some variety, but it's up for guesses as to whether it will be all or mostly rain. The best case would be warm rain, which would wash the snow away to an extent. I don't even want to think about the worst case.

Anyway, I spent most of the day reading and napping, more of the former than the latter. And I can do that for another while, should the worst case pan out. Maybe tomorrow I'll take some pictures showing the amount of melt. If you haven't seen the snow pictures, they're here and here.

All in all, this one hasn't been so bad. But I've had enough for this winter.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky