Becky Says...

August 2005

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Foursome - August 13

My friend who is in recovery isn't really noting the monthly anniversaries since he's passed the year mark, but for the record, he has indeed made it through fourteen months. And counting. His life has had some difficult moments of late, and he has stayed substance-free through them. I remain incredibly proud of him.

* * * * * * * * * * *

The buses in Chapel Hill are equipped with lifts to allow wheelchair (and baby carriage) access. When they're activated a beeping sound is heard. It continues throughout the time the lift is in operation, and is piercingly loud to those inside the bus. I learned that firsthand yesterday afternoon. I have mixed feelings about the beep. I understand it is for safety, but I wish there were another, quieter way to accomplish the same thing.

* * * * * * * * * * *

A friend's dog ran away almost two weeks ago, from the residence of some other friends. We all hoped for the best, but feared that he was dead. Yesterday, he showed up at the door of the residence from which he had run away. To avoid further adventure, he was sequestered (and fed) in that kitchen while his owner was en route to pick him up. I have asked for and received permission to put the glue on one paw.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I've had this computer over four years now. I still occasionally hit the shift key when I'm aiming for the enter key. You'd think I'd have accepted the fact by now that shift does not move the cursor to a new line. But no, it still catches me by surprise.

Text © copyright 2000-2005 Becky