Becky Says...

February 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 29

I've spent most of the evening working on the update to the crochet part of my Rebeccaworks site. The update isn't live yet; it's in the beta test stage. I'll link when it's ready for the world to see.

In doing the work on the site, I realized how much I have learned about the ways of the web since I started thinking about having a website. One of the reasons I gave for starting this journal was to learn more about HTML, and become comfortable with it. I think I can safely say I am comfortable with it at this point, which is over three and a half years later.

I was a latecomer to the web. I didn't really start learning anything at all about it until after my mother's death in 1996, and it was over a year later when I bought my first computer. Still later in 1997 I signed on to an ISP for the very first time. And haven't looked back.

In late 1999 I started thinking it would be nice to have a website for my freelance work. I joined an online discussion group for crafters, and got lots of good ideas about sites from them. In the summer of 2000 I finally got the domain name, and that fall the site itself went live.

And I'll tell you a geeky little truth about Becky: I love working with sites. I love knowing that I can put a bit of code around something and make it available to people all over the world. I love being able to see my work on various computers. It's still as much fun as it was three and a half years ago.

So although the updating tonight took some doing, it was a task I thoroughly enjoyed.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky