Becky Says...

February 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 28

I stayed home Friday. By the time enough snow had melted to make it look okay to drive, it was late enough to be thinking the workday was over. Today the snow is gone, at least in this area. I understand that there is plenty left down in Charlotte. In case someone hasn't seen enough.

I've spent some of the time these two days deciding on some changes to the Rebeccaworks site's information on crocheted pieces. I am working on what I hope will be a clear description of what I can do for customers, which will also include information on what I can't do. I meant to do this about a year ago, but got busy with other things and let it slide.

Along with that, I've done some reading and some chores and some websurfing. A quiet, peaceful couple of days. Not much to write about, but very pleasant.

February 26

As I write this, late at night, it is snowing. This time, the snow is sticking to the parking lot surface. I'm happy to be able to tell you I got to work and back, albeit early on both the going and the coming home ends.

looking downhill from my apartment

This afternoon, the snow on the tree and shrubbery branches looked a lot like confectioners' sugar, sprinkled in lacy patterns. When I got home, I took pictures.

looking across from my apartment

We're still wondering how much snow will fall, and whether or not the roads will be clear tomorrow. But for now, all is silent, and the snow falls.

February 25

There was a local group of us who were doing anti-snow dances today. Apparently, we didn't do enough; there's supposed to be six to twelve inches of the stuff, with or without sleet accompaniment, in the next day or so.

Dammit.

Many of my watcher/watchees are hurting today. And I'm okay for me (weather notwithstanding) but sad for them.

Dammit.

For whatever reasons, February has been a difficult month for a lot of people. Never mind that it's the shortest month; it's definitely contained more than its share of bad days.

Dammit.

February 24

There is a hidden benefit to same-sex couples most people don't think of, which is immediately obvious to those of us who spend word processing time working with Power of Attorney forms.

If the spouses choose to have each other serve as agents, you can save the form in the other person's name, swap the names of the principal and the agent, and not have to change the pronouns.

In North Carolina at least, this is especially pertinent in terms of healthcare powers.

Yes, this occurred to me as I was working on healthcare powers the other day.

February 23

Discovery of the day: the reason I dislike message board posts that are written with a tone of sneering disdain.

For a long, long time posts written in that tone have tripped a trigger in me, one of annoyance with the poster. Even if I tended to agree with the sentiment (which usually is dislike of something), the tone made me cringe.

Today, it dawned on me that the sneering disdain reminds me of unpleasant, unkind things said to me many years ago.

No wonder I dislike it so much.

February 22

Last year around this time, I started accompanying a friend on a kind of journey.

I knew going into this that the journey would not be easy. But I also knew it was my privilege to be on it.

I knew the journey would lead me to think outside myself. Little did I know the journey would also lead through some hidden places in my mind.

I have learned much. I have received and given. It has been both exhausting and exhilarating.

And is one of the most worthwhile things I have ever, ever done.

The journey continues.

Text and pictures © copyright 2000-2004 Becky