Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 9

Happy Birthday, Donna! I hope it's the best one ever, and that there will be many, many more.

I've told you before (in the entry linked above) that Donna is my best friend. She is, and she means a whole lot to me. We may live fairly far apart, but that doesn't mean we don't keep in fairly close touch.

In a slight change of subject (but bear with me), my cousin did have surgery Saturday morning, and is doing well. We are all happy to hear this news.

And that reminds me of the day shortly after my mother's surgery, when Donna and I went to Charlotte to visit her. Neither of us had a lot of experience with that hospital's parking facilities, so we stopped at a gated lot's gate to ask directions. Donna was driving, and her baby daughter's carseat was visible in the back seat.

I'm not sure if the gate attendant was just unhappy because it was a rainy morning, or if she had been dealing with idiots all shift, or what, but she took one look at us and decided we must be planning to cause trouble. After telling us we couldn't park in that lot, and being assured we had not planned to trespass, she did finally give us directions to the proper place. Then she looked at Donna, nodded her head in the direction of the back seat, and said, "Do you have a baby in there?"

Donna told her that the baby was spending the morning with her grandmother. This seemed to placate the attendant, who I believe then wished us a pleasant day. We drove on. As soon as we were out of earshot of the attendant, Donna looked at me and said she wished she had told the woman, "Yes, I do. I've decided I don't like that one and I'm bringing it back!"

We made "bring it back" jokes for a very long time after that. Donna's sense of humor is just one of the things I love about her.

If you have a friend like Donna, you're lucky. I know I am.

Text © copyright 2000-2003 Becky