Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 28

Not much going on here today, on purpose. I decided to take the day to pamper myself. Except for a quick trip to the mailbox to pay a bill, I stayed in. I napped. I read. I played with gadgets. And I watched reruns. I also got into the Christmas candy a cousin sent.

May not have been the most fascinating day I've ever lived through, but it was pleasant. Hope yours was, too.

December 27

Occasionally I see the question raised of how people who claim to be Christian could justify not going to church. My answer basically works out to be that churches are man-made institutions. And like all other aspects of humanity, sometimes they fail to fill our emotional needs. When that is the case, staying away is perhaps for the best. And I think God understands.

Yes, I do identify myself as Christian, but it's been a long time since regular church attendance was important to me. Why I don't go is not really important. It's not one reason---no one pissed me off one Sunday or something else I can put into a simple sentence. There are some things I miss about it, but not enough to make me want to take the plunge again. I don't know that I ever will. I know I'm still welcome in God's house, so the Evangelism Committee doesn't need to come visiting, thanks.

I do object to most of the church fund-raising gambits I've ever seen, since I think it would be vastly more honest to tell a congregation that there are certain expenses incurred each year by a church and that a budget must be met. Most people are not going to flee in horror if you tell them this truth---they already know it, anyway. But that's not my reason, either.

I try to live my faith. Just because I choose, at this point, to live it without benefit of altar flowers is no reason to presume I'm less worthy of calling myself God's child. It's just that it works out to me that it's more important for God to know He's welcome in my house.

December 26

If you're curious, the choice was grilled cheese. And my ear is much better today. Thanks to those who wrote.

There isn't much going on here. I never have been one to go out on December 26 to power shop, mainly because I don't ever need to buy that much in preparation for next year. If I decide to buy cards a year ahead, I can do that several days after the big day and still get a good selection. And usually I don't need to return things.

The decorations will stay up through Epiphany, and you're welcome to go look at the pictures, if you would like.

And if you want to see the rattling socks, here you go:

Detail of sock trim


This shot shows you what I put on the sock edges. All those strands are crocheted chains, and there are 48 beads per sock.


Pair of Rattling Socks


And this is the pair of them.

December 25

The Christmas entry is here.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky