Becky Says...

August 19, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Noise for a Sunday Morning

A pre-entry announcement: Several of you have expressed interest in having me do custom crocheted pieces for you for the upcoming holiday season. If you really do want things done, now would be an excellent time to order whatever it is you'd like, before the crafts fair starts next month. All the information you'll need about how to order is on that page.

* * * * * * * * * * *

It's a good thing I was already awake early this morning. One of the neighbors decided he needed to do some more work on his car, which is conveniently parked close to my bedroom window. He's been doing something involving changing tires all weekend. I'm not sure any four tires ever needed that much changing, but hey, if it makes him happy, fine.

Anyway, whatever this morning's exercise in car work was to be, apparently it needed accompaniment. Loud accompaniment. Of the musical kind. Stereo cranked up very high. Cranky Becky, wanting to read in peace, did not feel the need to listen to this particular concert at this hour of the day.

So I did the first thing that popped into my mind. I opened the window, cleared my throat loudly enough to disturb the peace, and asked the man to turn the thing down. He quickly complied, and said he was sorry. I nodded acknowledgement, and closed the window.

This particular neighbor is somehow connected to the gaggle of children who live down the building from me. They were all out on the sidewalk watching him mess with the tires on Friday, and during the non-rainy parts of yesterday. A couple of other adults were around, too, alternately supervising his work and supervising the children. No, I'm not that nosy, but with the living room drapes open the show was hard to miss.

It was apparently too early this morning for the children to be out and watching the man and listening to the music, which is a shame. They could have seen the scary neighbor lady hiding her nightgown-dressed self behind the bedroom drapes.

I am wondering if there will be an encore. And if so, how I should dress for my cameo appearance!

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky