Becky Says...

2000-07-12

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines




Short Takes on Food

One of the nice things about being single is the freedom to have meals at weird times, and to have single-ingredient meals if that's what you want. No one's going to mind! But it gets a little complicated when interacting with people who schedule potlucks, for example. I remember a church potluck dinner where the instructions regarding how much and what to bring were: "enough for yourself and one other person, and bring whatever you'd normally have for Sunday supper." Well, at my place those days, Sunday supper was usually a bowl of popcorn. No, I didn't. I think I went for fast-food chicken.

Same dinner: a family of four made sure to follow the instruction: they brought five cupcakes for dessert.

Although I'm a fairly decent cook, what I usually feel about meal preparation is that I'd rather be the person playing piano while someone else cooks. A cousin of mine takes that one step further: she'd rather be the person listening to the pianist while a third person cooks.

My mother was a good cook, but never cared much for cakes and cookies and other baked desserts. She rarely made them. So once when she for some reason had to bake brownies, I got a phone call asking for help. I could tell she was having a bad day with the whole thing when I realized what she needed help with was following the directions on the package of brownie mix. She enjoyed telling this story on herself, by the way.

Text � copyright 2000 Becky