Becky Says...

January 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Inauguration Day - January 20

I am so very glad that my life is such that I could devote much of today to paying attention to history. History years and years in the making. I have witnessed history before, but this is one of the happiest, most joy-filled events ever.

I spent time on Twitter and Facebook today, and one thing that stands out for me is how many people who are not United States citizens were paying attention to the events of the day, sharing in the hope and joy and the excitement.

At various points I'm pretty sure we were passing around the World Wide tissue box, because most everyone I can recall was tearful at some point.

I've heard a lot of people say they never thought they'd live to see the day when a black man became President. I don't want to sound dismissive, because I understand waiting and hoping and fearing.

But honestly, it never occurred to me that a black person wouldn't be elected in my lifetime. I've had a hard time articulating just why that is, but I think it really comes down, for me, to having hope.

I'm glad that President Obama is in office. I'm glad I and my fellow Americans and fellow citizens of the world are able to celebrate. And I'm glad we realize that there is much work to be done, and that so many have indicated willingness to help it be.

The mood in this country as I write tonight is one of hope...and so is mine.

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky