Becky Says...

March 2006

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Again - March 17

There is a really sour note for me this year regarding St. Patrick's Day. After being denied clemency, a man named Patrick Moody was executed at Central Prison in Raleigh in the early hours of the day.

Sorta doesn't make a rat's ass' worth of difference who did or didn't wear green or orange or pink striped with blue. Someone is dead, people.

Back in March 2001, I wrote about another execution. That time I said:

"And that day, in 1984, I was embarrassed to admit to people that I was from North Carolina. See, the State was saying the execution was being done in the name of all the People of the State, by whichever executioner flipped the real switch (there are three, and none of the executioners know which of them has the "real" one to start the poison).

"And that just is not true. I am one of the People of the State. And no one was acting in my name. Not that night, nor any other time that a convicted person has been put to death. I would much rather my tax money be used to keep killers in prison, where they have to think about why they're there, for the rest of their lives."

For the record, I am still as opposed to the death penalty as I ever was. This is yet another execution done in the name of the People of the State of North Carolina. And again, it was not done in my name.

Text © copyright 2000-2006 Becky