Becky Says...

October 2004

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






October 25

Recuperation from the cold continues. I was running a little slow getting going this morning, and was therefore running a little slow getting out the door to head to work.

Then my workday got off to an even later start by a few minutes, and not of my volition. The two-lane access road we take to get into the office complex is being repaved. I got stuck as the first in a line of cars waiting for the paving trucks to get through the one open lane.

I think they were coming in from several counties west of me, based on how long we waited. No other traffic was coming from that direction, incidentally. Yes, I'm exaggerating, but it was a long wait. I could have walked to my office from where I was in the length of time I waited, and that's not an exaggeration.

Once the paving trucks were past us, we had to follow a pilot truck, since going down this really short, straight stretch of road would have been way too much to handle without someone to show us which lane was open.

When I got ready to turn into the parking lot, I was a little afraid the whole string of drivers would follow me, a la Mother and Uncle Bob's funeral.

But they didn't. I'm guessing the drivers all knew which offices they wanted, and continued to the appropriate lots.

The pilot truck, however, came into the lot by another entrance and nearly ran me off the pavement as he sped through and headed out again.

You can always tell those people whose attitude of self-importance is several feet taller than they are. The pilot truck driver was one such.

Mercifully, by the time I was ready to leave, the paving had stopped for the day. It will be interesting to see what part of the road is blocked tomorrow. I may be sorry I didn't just grab a change of clothes and head back to the office to spend the night.

Text © copyright 2000-2004 Becky