Becky Says...

March 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 1

A group of us from the law firm went out to lunch today, to celebrate the successful completion of a rather large matter for a client. We chose to go to a favorite Mexican restaurant---why yes, there are authentic Mexican restaurants in Chapel Hill, courtesy of Mexican immigrants who are good cooks.

We had a great time. The food was good, and the company was grand.

But I'm thinking we might have to lodge a complaint against the restaurant. They served us too much food, especially too many tortilla chips with salsa that was exceptionally good.

I'm guessing it's to cut down on salsa theft that the place does not put out spoons in the place settings. If they had, we would have eaten fewer chips, but I guarantee you the salsa itself would have disappeared. If they had made it available by the vat, we might well still be sitting there gorging on the stuff.

Making this a little trickier for me is that I tend to eat breakfast later in the mornings these days, so I can cover the phone during the regular lunch hour for the firm without feeling deprived (also known as pissed off and put upon). Even though the group got a late start going to lunch, it was still about an hour before my regular lunch time.

I didn't let that stop me. I figured I would eat dinner later than normal, to make up for it. And that worked well.

Mercifully, the afternoon was pretty quiet at the firm. None of the attorneys had client meetings scheduled after lunch, and the phone wasn't too busy. That let us digest in peace and not worry about perhaps dozing off in front of the clients. Even on casual Fridays, that would not do at all.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Beth has started a ring of journallers who plan to update daily for the rest of Lent. The ring is called "Saving Kymm's Soul," in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent. She'll need a handy list of archives to search as she celebrates Easter, and we thought we'd help her out. The list of ring members is here.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky