Becky Says...

October 2015

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September into October - October 15

September got itself over with faster than I thought it would! Much of the month was spent working, of course, but there was some time for fun.

The fun included getting to go to "Almost, Maine" with a friend whose son was the stage manager. Some of you may recall that this play was the subject of some controversy a while back, when a high school in western NC had been given permission to put it on, then had that permission rescinded. Apparently, the problem was there's a gay scene in the play. Anyway, a local group sponsored the high-schoolers in doing the play off-campus, and even the playwright got involved.

Trust me: if you haven't seen the play, the gay scene will not shock anyone's sensibilities. It's quite sweet, actually. As are the other scenes in the play.

I had a great time. Not only was the play fun, so was our getting free doughnuts because we happened to hit Krispy Kreme on "talk like a pirate day," during which patrons were rewarded for doing just that.

Another fun thing was discovering I really like playing flute on the back deck where I live. This came about one evening because a housemate and I were discussing different tunes to the Doxology...I know three...and quite often I play better than I sing. We had a great time, and I hope to do this again if the weather stays warm-ish.

October has been pretty good, so far. And very busy. There was a major event at Job 1 early in the month, and much was done to prepare for that. I've also had chances to spend time with friends. Here's hoping the rest of the month goes well.

Text © copyright 2000-2015 Becky