Becky Says...

January 2015

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Happy New Year! - January 1

As the new year begins, I wanted to check what I had mentioned the past year and bring up-to-date any loose ends. Much of this was posted at Facebook last night.

Construction at Job 1 is nearly complete. There have been a couple of occasions recently when I was in that building and thought I was coming down with a cold, only to get outside for a few minutes and realize that something the builders were using (most likely an adhesive) was prompting a huge allergic reaction for me. I'm pretty sure they're through using the adhesive, but I'm carrying antihistamine with me just in case.

I am no longer singing in the choir I mentioned in October, because they've gone back to having night rehearsals, on the busiest, most tiring day of my workweek. I tried it one night, and realized this would utterly not work for me. I wish them well, and will continue to sing from my place in the congregation on the hymns when I'm there (sometimes I go to another church, and sometimes I stay home).

This has been a year when music has come back to the forefront of my life, sometimes church music and sometimes otherwise. I am very, very pleased about this.

And my friend Gwen with Guillain-Barre Syndrome is in a nursing home with no clear prognosis, but such is that disease. A long-time friend of hers lives near the place, and is keeping us posted. Tonight, as part of my effort to help Gwen get her place here cleaned out, I adopted the rocking chair inherited from another housemate in late 2013, for long-term loan. My back may forgive me for picking up said chair. Whatever...I'm enjoying having it.

As I look back over the year, I realize it has gone a lot better than I had thought it would. I have deeper friendships with several people, I still like both my jobs, and I still like where I live. And some of these past 365 have been just outstanding.

I'm glad y'all have been along for the ride. Happy New Year!

Text © copyright 2000-2015 Becky