Becky Says...

October 2014

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






October 27

I early-voted this afternoon. Mercifully, there was only one candidate I really didn't like but for whom I had to vote because of the lesser-of-two-evils thing.

Of course, the main political news in North Carolina this month was the overturning of Amendment One, which was that horrible amendment making same-sex marriage illegal. I am delighted for a lot of people about this, and delighted in general than another hurdle to civil rights has been taken down.

And, of course the news here in Chapel Hill the last week has been the Wainstein Report about sham classes taken by student-athletes at Carolina for quite a few years. Except to say it makes me sad, I don't really have much to say on this one.

In personal news, I seem to have wound up singing in a church choir. This is a church I've been attending for a while, and its choir is down a few members. I may be out of practice, but I'm not embarrassingly bad (at least I don't think I am) and at the moment the rehearsals are held before church, so no worrying with being too tired after the workday.

Both jobs continue to be good ones, that I am grateful to have.

And that's it, for the moment.

Text © copyright 2000-2014 Becky