Becky Says...

August 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Ted Kennedy - August 29

I am saddened by the loss of Senator Edward M. Kennedy. I watched the memorial gathering and the funeral, and was deeply moved. Along with the rest of the nation, during the past few days I was reminded of (or taught from the beginning about) how many laws of the land were a direct result of his work. He made countless lives better.

One thing that I really appreciated was the family's generosity in setting up a Twitter account, perhaps originally planned for news organizations and others who had real need to know what was going on, but open to all who wished to follow.

I did, and from that learned that the memorial gathering on Friday would be live streamed on the website. (The funeral was live streamed, also, but I watched it on television instead.) I appreciated our being allowed to participate in the laughter and the tears on Friday night.

The funeral bulletin was also made available, for download as a .pdf, here.

Another thing on the website is a place for anyone who would like to leave memories of Senator Kennedy and/or messages for the family.

I'm glad he had the chance to live out his life, and hope that he rests in peace. My condolences and a wish for peace and grace to the family.

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky