Becky Says...

July 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Monday - July 27

Last night I spent a bit of time searching online for information about someone. I knew how to spell the man's name, but the search engine decided I didn't, and threw in results for alternate spellings. Without asking me if the alternate was what I meant. I don't like this, not at all. It's fine if the search engine asks me if I meant an alternate spelling, but inserting without asking? No.

Then there was a funny. I was looking for someone on LinkedIn. There were a good number of people by this man's name, so I had to check several profiles that might have been the one I meant (none were, by the way). LinkedIn made it a lot easier to narrow the list, though, because they list profession with the name. I knew, for instance that the person I wanted was not the Presbyterian minister...especially since the man I was trying to find is Jewish.

In non-search news, I'm pondering several ideas for my business. I need some new customers -- not that I don't deeply appreciate the returning ones (waves at two readers in particular)! I can tell you that the next item heading toward the website is small pouches, done in acrylic yarn in single crochet. I'm using one of them right now to hold smaller things that can get lost in my handbag.

The web page for the pouches is coming soon, but in the meantime, if you're interested feel free to ask me for more information.

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky