Becky Says...

July 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Dear Universe - July 1

Dear Universe, I need some more customers, please, for things I actually make. As soon as possible would be just fine!

I've spent a lot of the past couple of months in negotiations (for lack of a different word) to make something for a company that wanted to resell the item. I made a sample, and some swatches when the sample wasn't what they wanted. Telling you much more about the process will get crochet-geeky, and I don't want to go there.

Anyway, lovely people to work with, but the bottom line is for all those geeky reasons I finally ended my participation in the project a few days ago. I was and am very relieved to be out from under the project.

A non-geeky reason I'm glad is that I remember my mother's last few years of working as a public school teacher. She had, for a lot of years, loved teaching. Then there were some school-system-wide changes that made her hate going to work.

And I promised myself I would do my best to avoid ever being that miserable about a job. I was heading into the miserable territory with the work on this project, and could feel it in my soul. I dreaded it every time I picked up whichever piece of it I was making, after the first sample didn't work for them.

Before you ask, it would not have been that lucrative. Trust me on that.

I tried. I'm honestly satisfied that I gave this project my best shot, and it just wasn't right for me.

I'm not sure where I go from here. I'm looking for part-time work, which isn't happening (neither is full-time, for anything I'm remotely qualified to do). I have another couple of projects up my sleeve, but for the moment, I need some more customers, for any of the things I offer at Rebeccaworks, or reader donations/clients at Counsel Giver. You're welcome to tell your friends!

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky