Becky Says...

April 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines








Of Memories - April 19

I've spent most of the weekend doing my own things, instead of contemplating work. Some of "my own things" included long naps both days.

There's a website where one can enter one's first memory. A couple of my friends linked to it, and I entered mine, since it's a happy one. I remember my third birthday, which included Daddy bringing home a cake from a local bakery that had white icing with red piping. Back in those days, red and pink were my favorite colors.

I have other early memories, but that's the first one with a date attached. And part of what they're asking is if this is something you're sure you remember or sure you've heard told. In this case, I'm absolutely sure it's mine. In fact, I'm pretty sure no one ever talked about it.

I remember my fourth birthday, too, because one of Mother's teacher friends organized a birthday party for me. It was just after Daddy's death, and she wanted me to have something happy to think about. It was a lovely gesture, and I loved her for it long after the presents were outgrown or worn out.

Other things I've done included getting caught up with some reading and collecting my wits for the week to come. I think it's going to be a busy one.

And I hope it's a good one for all of us.

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky