Becky Says...

January 2009

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Rest in Peace - January 24

Former North Carolina Governor Bob Scott died on Friday. I remember that he was Governor, but honestly don't have many memories of his term.

What I do remember is his time as President of the state's community college system. He did some fine work in that job.

Then early Saturday morning, Kay Yow died. She had been coach of NC State University's Women's Basketball Team for many years, and had been an inspiration to many both on and off the court.

I've spent a lot of the day listening to or reading tributes to her, all of which had me nodding in agreement.

I will leave it to others to chronicle their achievements. I'll say that I appreciate both of them, for their many contributions to North Carolina and beyond.

I hope both Governor Scott and Coach Yow rest in peace. They've had lives well lived.

Text © copyright 2000-2009 Becky