Becky Says...

December 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Rising Up - December 2

As I'm writing this, I'm listening for a second time to Bev Syke's video clips from Steve Schalchlin's "New World Waking," which had its premiere at Davies Hall in San Francisco last night, as part of the 30th anniversary concert by the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus.

Bev's word for the evening was "Wow!" And she's right. But this isn't a reprise of Bev's entry, or of Steve's. Instead, this is me. Becky the musician, Becky who has done a smidgen of composing, Becky who has played for and sung in my share of concerts. Becky who appreciates the work that goes into such things. And Becky who is picky about music, but rarely admits that.

And in this case, Becky who really likes what she heard. At least in part I'm impressed because I know enough of Steve's story to think he's an amazing person. And because I heard part of this (the song that lends part of its name to the entry title) before when Steve taped a rehearsal and shared it, so I was primed to like the rest.

Go, if you haven't already, and watch the video. And if you can get through "I'm Rising Up" without clapping or weeping (or both), you're very different from me.

This work is a celebration. It's a set of statements. It's an affirmation of life and overcoming and not losing faith. And should make you think, and sing along, and say no to hatred, no matter what you may have learned prior to this moment. Because there is indeed a new world waking. And we are truly blessed that we can be part of that waking.

Now if you'll excuse me, I want to go hit replay.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky