Becky Says...

June 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Technology - June 15

One morning this past week I woke to find an e-mail message from my best friend, Donna, basically asking me what the hell was the matter with me that I hadn't been in touch since her mother died. And of course, it was three hours before I could call her, thanks to my having awakened entirely too early.

So when I did get her on the phone, I told her that I had had no idea that her mother had died. This surprised her, since she had left a message about midnight the night her mother died, on my cell phone's voice mail.

I don't leave the phone on all the time, but I do check messages fairly often. And that message never came. I have no idea what happened, and will probably never know.

I'm glad Donna and I are close enough that we got past my not having done anything...that she knew to follow up. I hate that she had even a moment's concern about this.

At some point in the future I'll write a proper memorial entry about her mother, who was also my friend. Right now, I want to remind people that technology is grand until it doesn't work.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky