Becky Says...

June 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Trio - June 8

I remember Bobby Kennedy's death forty years ago. I remember watching the coverage of it, and talking the whole thing over with my mother. I particularly remember the coverage of the train taking his body from New York to Washington, and the many, many repetitions of "Battle Hymn of the Republic."

And I remember much about the rest of the 1968 Presidential race. Never mind that was one such election before I was able to vote; I still paid it a lot of attention. It was clear to me that the world was changing, and I wanted to bear witness.

Jeff Greenfield, now senior political correspondent for CBS news, was on Senator Kennedy's staff in 1968. He did a wonderful piece in remembrance. A transcript and a video are both available here. I commend it to you.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Ami Dar of Idealist has asked people to pass on the information that job listings placed by non-profit organizations are free for the rest of the month of June. Those ads are normally $60.00. Please pass this information on to anyone in charge of placing job listings for non-profits.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Much of my week was taken over by a head cold. Hate those! I will say it was timed well, in that I ran errands before it hit. And I have enough food and supplies in the house that I really don't need to go shopping for the next week or so.

Which is good, because we're in the midst of an early summer heatwave. I went out to the mailbox early Saturday and was really startled at how hot it was already. Even the little kids stayed inside. That tells me a whole lot.

Text � copyright 2000-2008 Becky