Becky Says...

June 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Remembering Daddy - June 1

Today would have been my father's 102nd birthday. In a few months, he will have been dead longer than he was alive. And that's both a little sad and a little hard to comprehend.

I've said before that Daddy was an active layman in our Lutheran congregation. Many years after his death, I happened to be going through a box of his papers and found drafts of letters he had sent on behalf of a call committee a few years before he died.

Among other things he told a pastoral candidate was that our congregation had just purchased a new mimeograph machine. I'm sure the reason that stuck in my brain is that a number of years later I used one of those machines myself. And for the record, that candidate became our pastor. I doubt the mimeograph was the thing that sealed the deal, but you never know!

Daddy had a lot of interests. One of those was politics, specifically the Democrats. I think he would have enjoyed (and winced at) this year's Primary Season. I'm sorry he wasn't around to participate in discussions. But knowing what I know of him, I can tell you he would have no problem with the possibility of either a woman or a black man being President.

On the fiftieth anniversary of his death last November 8, I wrote a lot more about him, and rather than trying to modify that piece to work here, I encourage those of you who are interested to read it.

But I am going to republish one of my favorite pictures of the two of us:

Daddy and me

Love you, Daddy. Happy Birthday!

Text and photograph � copyright 2000-2008 Becky