Becky Says...

April 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Mailings, Mailings - April 8

I subscribe to a mailing list that I don't want to name here, but it's one I've mentioned by name before and particularly like. My daily copies of the mail come to a domain address which is forwarded to a Yahoo account. This is a failsafe for my domain mail, and is occasionally very useful, especially in such situations as the one I'm going to describe.

Late last week the copies of the mail from that list that were downloading to my e-mail client were coming through blank. But the Yahoo copies were coming through just fine. I did all the local things I could think of, then wrote to the list's administrator to ask if they had changed the format with which they were sending the mailings. I told the administrator that the problem was quite recent and that I had not changed any of my e-mail client's settings.

I was expecting a yes-or-no answer, with perhaps a comment if the answer were yes. Instead, I got a lovely note telling me that I was indeed a subscriber, and that if I were having problems perhaps I had a computer virus or spyware on my computer, with complete explanations of what both those were. Since I had only asked a yes-or-no question, I thought this was just a little much, but it was kindly written and had I not already known about viruses and spyware, would have provided necessary information.

For the record, I have neither virus nor spyware, and very good protection against both, and this particular mailing list's mail was the only mail that wasn't showing up properly.

I decided I'd just let it go a few days, checking to see if the downloaded copies ever had any content while reading the Yahoo copies, then change the address to only the Yahoo account if necessary. I just knew that asking another question would probably get me instructions on how to turn on my computer.

But now I wonder if the list folk got lots of complaints and realized they had messed something up in a software change. All I really know is that today's copy downloaded complete with content, and I hadn't changed a thing.

I hope it stays that way.

* * * * * * * * * * *

In other e-mail news, I got a newsletter from Carolina which contained this link to an ad that ran in today's editions of several newspapers. I happen to love the ad, and thought you'd like it, too. It definitely fits my notion of Carolina being a class act. By the way, the number used is that of Tyler Hansbrough of Carolina's men's basketball team.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky