Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Of Storytelling - January 29

First, an update. The questioner from yesterday has not sent pictures. I can't say that I'm surprised, however, if the "Where are you?" was supposed to be a request for a postal mail address for the purpose of sending printed pictures, the questioner needs to learn that asking a vague question will often get you a vague answer.

So I've spent today crocheting and wandering down memory lane, courtesy of a friend who shared a newspaper article about someone I knew twenty-some years ago.

The man from the past was a good storyteller. He could tell a story to a group of people and keep them engaged until he got to the end. It is a compliment to him that I still remember the last time I heard him tell a story, and its subject. Storytelling is a talent I don't have, but definitely admire.

My absolute favorite storyteller was a teacher from my childhood. I never had the pleasure of having her as a classroom teacher, but I do remember the summer afternoons when she did story hour at the local library. She would read a story or two, then would tell one. I remember watching her, and loving the gestures and expressions she used.

I have lovely memories of those days, and of other days when a storyteller captured my imagination. I hope to have to more chances to sit back and listen. It's a good way to spend some time.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky