Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Rants - January 12

I have tried to say this gently before, but I think it needs repeating and without the gentle. Do not give my e-mail address to anyone by way of a friend finder connected with a networking site or a business opportunity.

If you want me to be your friend or join you at any of those, write to me personally and ask, or if you know I'm already a member of the whatever and you know my user name there, send me a friend request.

I rarely turn down friend requests. But you may not have the e-mail address that I use at whatever place, and I don't intend to post all possible ones in a public place.

And to repeat some advice: Twitter, for as much fun and as useful as it is, has a policy (stated) of sharing its members' e-mail addresses with its business partners. In Twitter's case, that includes spammers.

I found that one out the hard way; I used an address to sign up there that had never before had any spam. I changed my address there as soon as I realized my mistake, but the previously un-spammed address still gets some. Learn from my mistake and use an address you don't care about when you sign up there.

* * * * * * * * * * *

For those of you who have seen the story of Maria Lauterbach's disappearance and death in the New York Times, well, there's a hell of a lot more to the story. Here's a link to coverage from WRAL, one of the local television stations that has been covering this story since Ms. Lauterbach's disappearance was first reported.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky