Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Treasure - January 10

This afternoon I unexpectedly ran across a treasure.

Back when I was a little girl and had a popular 11.5-inch fashion doll whose name does not need to cause this entry to show up in search results, I wanted a particular outfit for her. I knew we didn't have a whole lot of spare money, so when I talked to Mother about it and she told me we couldn't afford it, I wasn't surprised or even particularly upset.

The next thing that happened, though, was a surprise and a delight. My mother, who didn't do a whole lot of sewing, decided she'd like to make a dress for my doll, similar to the one I wanted. She did, and I loved it from the very first minute I put it on my doll. I never thought it was second-best; I thought I had a lovely doll dress and was really impressed with my mother.

I knew I still had that dress, but I hadn't remembered putting it in my sewing drawer. I had probably used it to measure the proper length for a doll dress for a young friend a few years ago. Anyway, this afternoon I happened to be looking in the part of that drawer where I keep small pieces of fabric and trim, and found the dress, neatly folded.

As I unfolded it and looked it over, I was instantly transported back in time to the afternoon when Mother made the dress. I remember how happy she was that the dress made me so happy. It was a lovely trip down memory lane.

The dress is safely back in the drawer, and the memories have kept me smiling all evening.

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky