Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sunday Night Thoughts- January 6

Much of the weekend has been spent working on an idea for crocheted things. There are several pieces in various stages of completion at the moment; none ready to be photographed just yet. Soon, soon.

I went out yesterday to do my errands, and decided to add lunch at Sutton's to the plan. As usual I ran into and shared hugs with someone I hadn't seen in years. That place is magic, I tell you.

Being downtown was nice yesterday in particular because the town itself was quiet and unhurried. This is the last weekend of Carolina's winter break, and town is always quieter during breaks. The quiet time lets the merchants restock and regroup to deal with the influx of students, without whom the town wouldn't be anywhere close to thriving.

So I've had a quiet weekend, but a full one. I like those.

And today is Epiphany to Christians. In 2005 I wrote an entry about the secular meaning of the word, and about truth. The quote below is from that entry. May there be many moments of such truth in all our lives.

"Ah, but remember those times when the truth's beauty is magnificent. Those moments, for example, when the answer to a perplexing question comes out of the shadows. Those moments when you realize beyond any shadow of doubt that someone loves you. Those moments when fear is cast aside and hope triumphantly takes charge. Those moments when the light that has shone takes away the weight of the darkness, leaving joy."

Text © copyright 2000-2008 Becky