Becky Says...

January 2008

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Hello to 2008 - January 1

Happy New Year!

I'm not one who makes new year's resolutions. A few years ago, I was asked by an acquaintance what my resolutions were. When I told her I didn't make them, you would have thought I had announced that I ate live babies for breakfast.

To calm her down a bit, and to let the rest of the group off the hook of having to listen to more discussion, I told her that each year I tried to be the best Becky I could be. Even though it was a vague answer, it shut off her stream of questions, so I guess it counted, in her book, as a resolution.

So if you need a good, vague answer to that question, please feel free to use mine. With your own name, of course.

Had I wanted to go further into the subject, I would have gone on to explain that I change my behavior whenever I realize it needs changing. That may be some otherwise nondescript day in the middle of the summer.

2008 Calendar Book

But there is something nice about having a blank slate of a year to contemplate. I have a new calendar book, which despite its name will not be used so much for planning as for remembering. I also have a wall calendar, just because.

Here's hoping this year's calendar book will be filled with more good memories than otherwise.

* * * * * * * * * * *

We're at the end of another year's Holidailies. As always, I'm glad to have participated. Holidailies is a really important part of my holiday traditions these days, both in the writing and in the reading. I thank Jette and Chip for their work on it.

Text and photograph © copyright 2000-2008 Becky


Holidailies